Diablo 4: How Will World Tiers Work

February 12, 2023
Learn everything about the new World Tier system in Diablo IV!

The launch of the highly anticipated action RPG Diablo IV is just around the corner and developers have promised that the game will bring major changes to the series. Instead of the typical linear progression, players have complete freedom to explore the open world and new difficulty levels with the introduction of a World Tier system.

This guide will tell you everything you need to know about the new world tier system in Diablo 4.

How Will World Tiers Work

World Tiers are the new difficulty systems introduced in Diablo IV with currently 5 world tiers being present in the game.

Players will be able to access this new tier system from the beginning of the game itself with World Tier 1 and 2 available starting from character level 1.

Tier 1 is designed for new players who want a more story-focused experience while Tier 2 increases the difficulty for those looking for a challenge.

As you increase the level of your character, new tiers will be unlocked providing you access to ancestral items.

These additional tiers will be available as you reach level 50 or above further increasing the difficulty while also rewarding you with better-quality gear.

However, it is important to note that some of these tiers cannot be unlocked straightway like in previous Diablo titles and you will need to defeat some tough world bosses to unlock them. Here is the complete list of all the tiers available in the game:

  • World Tier 1: Adventurer
  • World Tier 2: Veteran
  • World Tier 3: Nightmare (available at level 50)
  • World Tier 4: Hell (available at level 60)
  • World Tier 5: Torment (available at level 70)

Tier 3 to Tier 5 are definitely one of the most challenging tiers with players spending the majority of their end-game time in them.

If you are looking after rare rewards like Sacred and Ancestral items then these are the tiers that you need to be in.

However, it is worth noting that the developers have said each of these tiers will have a boss that needs to be defeated with a special boss awaiting players once they reach level 100.